Saltburn

Saltburn

Originally published on 04/10/23 on Letterboxd

Anything short of abysmal would’ve been an improvement on Promising Young Woman but I’m genuinely taken aback by how much I liked this- fun, sexy and a little gross (like all films should be). Very important representation for people who say shit like “I would drink Jacob Elordi’s bathwater”. Barry Keoghan is an absolute bastard, but what distinguishes this from his long and varied repertoire of little freaks is that he seems to genuinely relish in depravity instead of just embodying it. A strong contender to Tropic Thunder for the best onscreen Low needledrop. I do have some uncomfortable reservations about someone of Fennell’s background staging a narrative that essentially creates an exploitation film out of class dynamics, but I suppose it helps that the film really has nothing on its mind beyond surface-level pleasures (which is incredibly refreshing)